“Condoms?! How Dare You Ask For One!”

Honestly, I didn’t even know that today, 1st of December is World AIDS Day until I stumbled upon this video on Youtube. And I’m sure there are a lot of others out there who are in the same boat. Well, well, this video was an eye-opener.. sort of (partly because I just woke up after a short nap… ha ha PJ ✌). Jokes apart, this is something serious… and needs to change, for better! Have a look.

Watched it? How do you feel about it?

On this occasion people, let me quote the National Pledge of India, my country.

India is my country. All Indians are my brothers and sisters. I love my country, and I am proud of its rich and varied heritage. I shall always strive to be worthy of it. I shall give respect to my parents, teachers and all elders, and treat everyone with courtesy. To my country and all my people, I pledge my devotion. In their well being and prosperity alone lies my happiness.

👆This is something every student of probably every school in every state of India repeats every morning, verbatim, without really meaning or understanding it or it’s significance.

All Indians are my brothers and sisters but I’d call my sister a prostitute if she walks into a chemist’s asking for a condom! I shall give respect and courtesy to everyone, but hell NO I won’t respect their personal choices or the fact that they’re only trying to control popuation explosion!! To my country and my people, I pledge my devotion and I’m so devoted that I’d go to the extent of degrading anyone who asks for a condom at a store. It’s supposed to be highly confidential. Better if they’d go straight to the factory to fetch it. Or you know, government could install ATMs for that purpose. Fast n easy! In their well being and prosperity alone lies my happiness, but it’s okay if they get STDs and unwanted pregnancies and die; just, they shouldn’t ask for a condom in public!

To those chemists, who didn’t like the idea of the girl buying the condoms, man if you don’t wanna sell those, why do you even have them in stock? What difference does it make if it’s a guy or a girl buying the condom? After all it’s for the same purpose, right. It’s not like women buy condoms to cook!! Then why on earth would you have THAT attitude! Think of the terror activists out there. Had their mom and dad used condoms, the world wouldn’t have had to face half of what it has by now!

population1

After looking at this data, it becomes clear! No wonder we have such a huge population which only seems to increase rapidly every year. If this is the attitude of the chemists, people would only be more reluctant to buy protection for fear of being laughed at and made fun of. Not only does this affect population and physical health of the citizens, it also reflects the hindrance to progress we have in our society.

Let me be very clear for three things. First, India is only one among the many countries where this happens, infact the situation is changing slowly  and second, I so DO NOT intend to GENERALIZE because there are a lot of other people who are not the same as in the video and third, that I am proud to have been born an Indian . Only that, social evils tend to agitate me. Hence I just listed my thoughts above.

This is the reason simply being literate doesn’t mean anything. We need education in its true sense to be imparted. I’m sure almost all of us have studied at least once about the importance of condoms in maintaining a healthy society and bringing population growth under control which inturn is a big step towards eradicating many other social evils.

So people, don’t be ashamed of asking for or buying condoms. It is your need to protect yourself and not the mocking shopkeeper’s or the laughing bystanders’. And chemists, it’s high time you changed this attitude lest your stock should befriend cobwebs.

That was a lengthy post, but today being World AIDS Day I had to say it!

3 thoughts on ““Condoms?! How Dare You Ask For One!”

Leave a Reply

